Ricky is out of the closet (and my love story with him)

I remember being like 5 when I was already singing “gafas oscuras”….(no, I don´t remember him before this, I was maybe too young)

But it was only when I was 7 that I became a serious serious fan of Ricky Martin, and I remember that moment as clear and close as yesterday: I was back from school, had just had lunch and was watching a white and black TV -what is that?-…when it happened…

The signs of being a fan are obvious, you watch anything infront of you if your favorite artist is in the story.
In the early 90´s I started by watching a soap opera with Ricky Martin (Alcanzar una estrella)

…In the mid 90´s, I was a fan of General Hospital. Does someone even remember he made a season in General Hospital…and then he played Marius of Les Miserables on Broadway?

In the late 90´s, the world -and Maddona- discovered him at the Grammys

…the Vida Loca became a hit….and I watched Hercules 4 times!

The rest is history, but this is my part…
I will remember been in my 20´s in the early XXI century and being as enthusiathic as to wake up at 4am in the morning to make a line and buy 1st row seats in his concerts…. ( Supported by other friends, names are not to be revealed…hahaha)…

Well, 20 years later… he´s out of the closet! good for him…I guess. Can anybody live with a secret for so long?

I just started to follow him on twitter a few minutes ago and notice that he posted this quote right before the revelation post: “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. M.L.K.J”

Here my two favorite lines of his declaration of homosexuality. The english version is not literally the same as the spanish one, so I will post this in spanish:
1) “Dejarme seducir por el miedo fue un verdadero sabotaje a mi vida”
2) “…El amor vive dentro de mi, la aceptación la encuentro en mi interior, y la verdad solo trae la calma”.

After all, I think I still like him!
the end. =)

my favorites

Responder

